Cheerios Recall: Gluten-Free Boxes May Contain Wheat!
Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios are being recalled by General Mills. The company says the cereal is labeled 'gluten-free' but may actually contain wheat.
An apology on General Mills website:
We are embarrassed & sorry to share an incident that occurred at our production facility in Lodi, California, that allowed wheat flour to enter our gluten-free oat-based system. As a result, original and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates may contain wheat and were wrongly labeled gluten free.
The recall affects 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July at the company's Lodi, California plant.
General Mills says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a gluten-free oat flour system. People with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who eat the gluten might experience an allergic reaction or discomfort.
General Mills ordered boxes still at warehouses and on store shelves to be returned and is asking customers with wheat allergies to call the company at 1-800-775-8370.