Number Of NH Motorists Fined For Snow On Their Vehicles Triples
During the winter of 2018-19, New Hampshire State Troopers have cracked down on Jessica's Law
With Daylight Savings Time this weekend, and spring just a few weeks away, we're still getting snow... lots of it. Just last weekend, the Granite Ste was pummeled with two snow storms, and there's bound to be more on the way.
It's 2019, and people are still leaving their homes without cleaning off their vehicles. Internet shaming someone's license plate when you see it works, but doesn't solve the issue. New Hampshire State Troopers, armed Jessica's Law, have handed out a record number of fines this winter.
According to WMUR News 9, Jessica's Law was passed after Jessica Smith was killed when ice from a tractor-trailer hit a box truck that ended up hitting her car. This year, police say they have tripled the number of stops over just a few winters ago. According to WMUR News 9, police said the most citations were issued in Rockingham County.
First offense is anywhere between $250 and $500, and $500 to $1,000 for subsequent offenses. Fines for what takes 4-5 minutes to avoid.