Getting a speeding ticket is like a triple punch to the gut. First, you have to pay the fine itself, and it's typically an amount that doesn't feel good. Secondly, there's that inevitable spike in your insurance rate. And last but certainly not least, you get hit with the points that are added onto your license. If you accumulate too many of those points, it's bad news bears. Your driving privileges can be suspended, and ain't nobody got time for that!

According to, if your license gets suspended in New Hampshire due to violating the DMV points system, you aren't eligible for a hardship license. The state doesn’t offer the option of a temporary license for driving to and from work. Therefore, a driver’s license suspension could result in you losing your job. What a series of unfortunate events. This is why speeding tickets need to be taken very seriously.

The site goes on to explain the driver’s license points system that is used to punish bad drivers. Each time you’re convicted of a moving violation, points are added to your record. If you’re an adult 21 or over, your license will be suspended should you receive 12 points within a year. If you receive 18 points within two years, your license will be suspended for up to six months. If you rack up 24 points over a three-year period, your license will be suspended for up to one full year.

Here’s an outline of the points penalties in New Hampshire:

  • Speeding 1 to 24 mph over the limit – 3 points
  • Speeding 25 mph or more over the limit – 4 points
  • Improper passing – 4 points
  • Reckless driving – 6 points

So, is it legal to go 10 mph over the speed limit in New Hampshire?

The simple answer is no. As we see in the chart above, going just one mph over the speed limit could technically result in a ticket that will hit your license with three points.

According to, the fines for speeding in New Hampshire are as follows (this is for exceeding a presumed limit that is 55 miles per hour or less):

1 to 10 mph over the speed limit $62
11 to 15 mph over the speed limit $93
16 to 20 mph over the speed limit $124
21 to 25 mph over the speed limit $248
26 mph over the speed limit $434

Of course, while the likelihood of getting pulled over for going one mile above the speed limit is not very high, it's better to be safe than sorry.

I am not much of a speed demon behind the wheel. When I first started on the morning show on WOKQ, I had an experience that made me change my ways. I was running late in the wee hours of the morning. I figured no one was on the road, and I was FLYING (I am not proud of it). All of a sudden, I saw flashing blue and red lights behind me, and quickly realized I was in fact, not alone. I got pulled over and received a big fat ticket for going 30 miles over the speed limit. OUCH. That experience shook me to my core. I didn't have that kind of money! Heck, I still don't! Even if I hadn't got pulled over, it was pretty dangerous and unnecessary for me to drive that fast. Better to be a few minutes late for work than injure myself or another driver. I haven't been pulled over for speeding since.

7 New England Towns Among the Most In-Demand in the Nation

BetOhio shared the nation's 20 most in-demand metro neighborhoods to live in, based on data from

Gallery Credit: Megan

New Hampshire and Maine Goodwill Stores Do Not Accept These 21 Items

Can you donate it? Check this list before you bring it to your local Goodwill Store.

Gallery Credit: Ginny Rogers

More From 97.5 WOKQ