What Happens If You’re Caught Violating Mass’s New Hands-Free Law
Massachusetts has joined the list of states with a distracted driving law. But what really happens if you're pulled over?
Wednesday, November 20th, 2019 will go down as a historical day in Massachusetts. The Bay State officially joined the growing number of states with a distracted driving law. Maine recently became the most recent state to adopt what close to half the United States already implemented. Usually a nationwide leader in legislation, the state of Massachusetts uncharacteristically lagged behind in this facet of lawmaking. No longer. According to NBC 10 Boston, the Senate voted 38-1 in favor of the bill Wednesday. Previously, the House approved it on a 153-1 vote. Serious question; who was the one person who voted it down? The legislation now heads to Republican Gov. Charlie Baker for his signature.
So, what happens if issued a citation on this offense? First time around, it will net you a $100 fine. If this doesn't grab your attention, it's $250 for a second offense. Then, $500 for a third. Also, on the third, they'll ding your insurance.
Moral of the story, put the phone down.