One city in Virginia has capped trick or treating at 12, to prevent Halloween mischief.

credit: getty images

According to CBS News, Chesapeake, Virginia, trick or treaters over the age of 12 will face serious consequences if engaging in bad behavior. The city code which states  "if anyone over 12 years of age participates in "trick or treat" or any similar activity, "he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.

Seem a little harsh?

Credit Getty Images

City officials have attempted to clear up the message via their website by stating "Chesapeake Police staff will focus on making sure the evening is safe for everyone." A 13-year-old "safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues."

Think you're going to trick or treat after 8pm? It'll be risky. According to the city code, "any person trick-or-treating after 8 p.m. will be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished by up to a $100.00 fine or jail time of up to 30 days, or both."

If it proves successful in Chesapeake, will it spread to the Granite State? Should it? Fire off on our Facebook page.